New Florida laws going into effect in January 2019..Here are a few . Florida’s minimum-wage rate is increasing to $8.46 an hour and at least $5.44 an hour for tipped employees. Hospitals will be required to post a list of their standard patient charges online under a new federal rule. Beginning Jan. 1, alimony will not be a tax deduction for payers and will not be taxable income for recipients. Amendment 2: Limit property tax This proposal permanently places a 10-percent cap on the annual increase of non-homestead property tax assessments.