College students and young smokers, take note…A new proposal in the state legislature (SB 1288) would raise the smoking age in Florida to 21. People under 21 caught smoking would face 20 hours of community service. A second offense doubles the punishment.
Under the proposal, vendors who sell tobacco to people younger than 21 would face a $500 fine. Like community service for the smoker, it doubles with a second offense. If the legislation passes, Florida would become the sixth state to raise the legal age for tobacco to 21.